What are NVQ Levels?

Door Theccmuk gepubliceerd op Wednesday 08 January 06:58

NVQ Levels is a work-based learning opportunity to accomplish higher standards in the career path. The National Vocational Qualification in the UK is recognised and valued in the construction industry. Candidates can complete an NVQ level while working in the industry. The qualification enhances the knowledge and skills a candidate possess in the work field. NVQ level qualifications have five levels; each level is equivalent to a higher standard of education recognition in the industry. The NVQ level qualifications provide many opportunities for a candidate in the industry:

  • Diverse job opportunities in the industry
  • Recognition through skills
  • Opportunity for higher education
  • Opportunity to become a professional through chartered membership qualifications
  • Opportunity to apply for the CSCS card

How to choose NVQ qualifications?

The National Vocational Qualification in the UK provides qualification levels to a broad range of sectors. Students, professionals or graduates can access the qualifications to progress in the chosen career path. Let us look at an example, on how a construction student/ professional will improve in the path with an NVQ level qualification.

Example: The construction industry is a sector which focuses more on practical working skills than theoretical knowledge. The industry is one of the most significant sectors to contribute to the welfare of a developing economy. The industry offers opportunities for growth and development in a candidate’s career. The industry wishes to maintain professionalism and quality through their services. There are many professional bodies encouraging standards in the industry to develop the skills and knowledge of an individual. Some of the recognised institutes providing professional qualifications to the built environment sector are the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors (RICS) and the Chartered Institute of Building (CIOB).

  • The RICS is an awarding body highly recognised for the Chartered Quantity Surveyor qualification in the industry. The RICS offers different levels of membership qualifications such as the AssocRICS, MRICS and FRICS.
  • The CIOB is recognised for the professional qualifications related to construction management. Construction management qualification such as the MCIOB is the highest recognition in the sector.

To become an MRICS or an MCIOB is not an easy challenge. Years of commitment, work experience, and knowledge is moulded into the achievement of the qualification. A candidate will find many options and pathways to obtain a chartered membership qualification through the RICS or the CIOB. A construction student, graduate or professional can approach the chartered membership qualifications through online construction management courses such as the Site Manager Course. Or progress through an NVQ Level 6 Diploma in Site Management. The qualifications are available to access depending on the experience and skills a candidate possesses.

NVQ Level 6 Diploma in Site Management

There are no requirements to enrol to an NVQ Level qualification. However, possessing an NVQ Level 2 or 3 will benefit the candidate to progress with the skills necessary to become a professional. An NVQ Level 6 qualification is a recognised and valued certification in the construction industry. Candidates who possess an NVQ Level 6 qualification has the opportunity to become an MRICS or an MCIOB. NVQ Level 6 provides a direct pathway to becoming an AssocRICS of the RICS APC. And it also provides a chance to advance to the CIOB Professional Review. Candidates can also obtain a Level 7 qualification once they possess the diploma from level 6. The NVQ level 6 qualification also provides a candidate with eligibility to apply for a CSCS Black Card.

It is not difficult to obtain an NVQ level qualification. There are no exams to complete while studying the course. Candidates can take their own time and complete the qualification with an assessor. However, many professionals complete the course in a period of one or two years. These courses are also available through online resources and colleges. The RICS and CIOB accredit the College of Contract Management in the UK an online course provider. As well as providing UK government regulated qualifications such as the NVQ level 6 Diploma. Possessing an NVQ level qualification while working in the construction industry is a valuable investment for anyone who wishes to progress as a professional in the field. You too, can find your qualifications by assessing your competence in the field of construction. 

Reacties (0) 

Voordat je kunt reageren moet je aangemeld zijn. Login of maak een gratis account aan.